Why Bother

I’ve been scanning and looking at YouTubers lately. It’s been… an interesting journey, to say the least.

I’ve been out of the Nauts YouTubing game for quite some time, and it was refreshing to see so many other YouTubers covering my favourite game… but I’d be a liar if I wasn’t disheartened by lack of comparative success. It’s even worse when I look at how far the person who inspired me to YouTube has gone by comparison; Markiplier is one of the fastest growing channels on YouTube, and he started 2 months before I did with his “new” channel (new in quotes because it’s his second one: his first channel died somehow, thought I don’t remember why).

I probably shouldn’t be comparing myself, but it’s hardwired into me. So then the question became: if everyone has this success, then why should I continue to bother?

Fundamentally because I’ve made an error in attribution; it’s not about how much progress I’ve made, but about what I’m doing for a community of people who rally around the content I make. Why bother? Because someone else thinks that the content is worth bothering for.

I’ll keep making videos. I just hope I do good by all of you.

-W.

Say something!

