On Writing Your Shit

Proving that, with a little gas, anything is possible.

I recently read an article (Right here!) written by what I can only assume is a good writer. The article was not unique in content: all it was about was improving your writing, or how to become a better writer.

What got me was his eighth piece of advice; Finish what you started. A.K.A, complete el poopo. A.K.A, Finnisez votre merdasse. A.K.A, Nein Poopen shooten. A.K.A, finish my shit.

I thought about it, and I realized: I had been writing on this blog for awhile. I’ve actually been writing a decent amount. The problem lay with the fact that I never finished my ideas. Ronald Black, the detective? Fell by the wayside. Writing up the fluff for my D&D campaign? Dropped the beat harder than a crooked reel. Stories? Philosophy? My brain is as full of &$#@ as it’s ever going to be, and I haven’t published a word.

And why not? The answer’s really lame, actually: I  couldn’t. I would get halfway through an idea, and then I would slowly work myself into a rut, leave the idea there, and hitch another idea. Rinse and repeat.

So I figure that, if I’m going to start writing better, what a better place to start then where I’m at now?

I’m going to finish my shit. Then I’m going to get off the toilet, and then actually finish my shit. And when I do, it will be a glorious pile of shit indeed.

And then I’ll finish what I started writing.

Almost... Hnnngh!..

2 comments

  1. I can totally empathize with this. I’ll put stuff down, then brush it off as something that needs to roll around in my head a little longer, than never come back and start something new. I’ll bounce onto something new like a small child with ADHD. Part of the reason I started blogging was to avoid this. Good Luck.

    Like

Say something!

