Where I Talk About Comments

I may no longer play WoW, but I do still keep up with the friends I made while playing the game and while writing Slow Wolf.  One such friend made a very interesting point on her blog.

Anea from Oh Look, An Alt! asked a very interesting question about blogging, and specifically about the comments we get from it.  Here’s what she said:

One of the things that can make us happiest as bloggers is seeing e-mails notifying us of comments on our blogs. However, if we took that away – and the influence it may have over our writing – would we become better bloggers?

Would writing what it really is you want to write make you truer to the purpose that you started the blog for? To write exactly whatever is in your head, rather than worrying about whether or not anyone will find it “interesting” or “good enough” to comment on? For the joy of writing?

Or are comments integral to your blogging experience and if you don’t have them, you don’t write?

Heavy, eh? Well, I’ve put on the gloves, Anea, for the first time in awhile.

It’s time for my two cents.

I personally believe that the very core idea of blogging is to have comments.  Why? Let’s take a look at what blogging is:

Blogging is a personal journal/account/ user created and customized media; but that’s no different from a pen and paper diary, by definition! So we need to ask ourselves what makes this so different from a diary, and the answer to that is obvious: readers.  Not a lot of people want others to read their diaries (at least while they’re living), and even if you wanted others to read it, it would be very difficult to publicize and get your diary everywhere.

Blogs are like diaries in terms of user created content; however the key difference is the consumer base of the blog, the people reading it.  You aren’t writing a blog to keep people away from your thoughts, you obviously know someone will read it.  So why bother with shenanigans? You write a blog so people will read it and think you’re awesome.

I am fully into that idea: I love comments.  I love seeing that people actually read this virtual rag.  I love reading what people think, trollish or otherwise.  As a blogger, I think it’s my duty to keep you poor SOB’s entertained, ’cause you’re obviously really bored if you’ve read this far.  I have to be a creative, witty, and inventive writer to keep a reader base.  Otherwise, you wouldn’t be here now, would you?

So with this in mind, blogging is specifically said to be a form of user created content with the clear goal of increasing and producing an interested reader base.  So naturally…

A good blogger needs comments.  A good blogger should be able to make his/herself interesting to read.  Comments are the reminders that, yes, in fact, people are reading the crap you put on the web.  If you don’t have that stimulus, that “reward” for writing online, then you eventually tell the world to &$%# off and stop updating.  Over the course of my blogging career, it’s happened far too often for it to be a coincidence: my friend Brian from Captain Redram’s, for instance.  Not enough comments, not enough motivation to continue spewing blog stuffs or finding new and creative ways to write.

In addition, comments are communication between the creator and the user: this type of relationship is a mutually beneficial one most of the time.  Why? Because the other idea of a blog is that the ideas posted on it then cause people to create a forum of discussion, and to create their own user created content.  All this custom content by all these people gives people a sense of power and confidence, both to the commenter and the writer.  It’s a powerful feeling that really fuels a blogger’s creative mind to new levels of writing.

Way too tired to be actually discussing this,
PHiL

4 comments

  1. While I completely understand the symbiotic relationship of blogger/reader, I keep my blog (blogs actually) private. I try to keep the postings WoW-ified, but some slip in that are very clearly not. And I cannot, for the life of me, imagine anyone being interested in these rants except in the interests of clinical psychoanalysis or an evaluation of anger management techniques.

    But it feels great to write about things I like (WoW) and about things I hate (WoW); kind of a release, you know? I am very opinionated and I (and to be completely honest, others) view myself/me to be somewhat confrontational at times, about things I’m passionate about; maybe I’m unwilling to supply them the proof.

    Like

Say something!

