No Card Left Behind

BURN.

I have become increasingly aware of the excess Magic cards in my room.  It’s tormenting me.  My mind reels at the fact that I have so much wasted potential in my room.

In fact, it’s become so annoying that I am creating a new… thing.  The No Card Left Behind… thing.

In any case, the idea is to create a new deck every week using a bunch of my older/unused cards in an effort to create fun/some kind of deck.  They don’t have to be good, but it does have to be playable.  It’s important to note that I can’t spend any new money on the decks: no singles, just what I have in stock.  I can trade, seeing as I’m using my cards to get new ones, ergo using them.  I can’t buy any new booster packs to flesh out my decks either.

So far, I’m off to an interesting start.  The first deck I’ve made is a mono red deck, based heavily around burn and other forms of indirect damage.  I’ve called it Crystal Red, since it exemplifies what I think a red deck should be like: powerful, unexpected, and full of fire! It’s clearly a red deck.

Crystal Red
Creatures
2x War Elemental
4x Cunning Sparkmage
1x Molten Ravager
3x Akki Lavarunner/Tok-Tok, Volcano Born
1x Obsidian Fireheart
2x Kazuul, Tyrant of the Cliffs
1x Tahngarth, Talruum Hero
1x Capricious Efreet

Spells
2x Quest for Pure Flame
4x Burst Lightning
1x Punishing Fire
3x Incinerate
3x Searing Blaze
2x Claws of Valakut
2x Crusher Zendikon
1x Chain Reaction
1x Stone Idol Trap
3x Fireball
1x Comet Storm

Lands
22x Mountain

Strategy, or lack thereof
This deck is about as simple as it gets in terms of what you have to do: burn the living cow out of your opponent, and make sure they don’t get back up.

Cunning Sparkmages are what cause the Quests for Pure Fire to be extremely easy to activate the turn of a large Fireball.  Try not to sacrifice these guys, they not only look cool but are some of the best pingers to ever come out.

Obsidian Fireheart is what allows the deck to do large amounts of damage in a game where life totals are larger.  So long as it’s left unchecked, it can cause your opponents lands to burn (yeah, it’s a keyword now >:3) at the beginning of their turn.  Not to mention he’s a 4 Converted Mana Cost (or CMC) 4/4, which is already pretty decent.

The strangest card in the deck is the Capricious Efreet.  This overcosted prankster is easily the most fun I’ve ever had in this game, and it’s likely I will try to make a deck around him.  Surprisingly, he can target enchantments (which normally aint red’s bag), and as such is valuable in that respect, but he can’t target lands.  It makes sense though, being an Efreet, that he have control of what magical thing explodes next.

Chain Reaction is another powerhouse.  The more creatures you play, the more vulnerable your opponent is to it.  It’s like a red version of Day of Judgement, except with uber cool art.  And it’s red.  >:3

So yeah, that’s the first deck.  We’ll see what I can come up with for next week!

-Phil

5 comments

  1. This may sound like sacrilege… but I’ve never actually played Magic. I didn’t really understand it at the time when it was all the rage in fourth/fifth grade.

    Pokemon cards though… I ROCK at those… >_>

    Like

    1. POKEMON CARDS DID ROCK! I was the only person who actually knew how to play them though…

      As far as this goes, I just have way too many cards, and I feel bad not playing them.

      Like

  2. Dude i totally offer myself for testing and the opportunity to build decks with the same idea. Maybe we could find a time each week to test?

    Like

Say something!

