A Rough Start

You know what sucks?

Locking yourself out of your room while brushing your teeth, about 30 minutes before class starts.

HEY! GUESS WHAT HAPPENED TO ME!

So not only did I do a /facepalm loud enough to wake up my housemates, the ensuing cursing lasted for a good two minutes as I finished my toiletry.

Once that was done, I put on my extra pair of shoes I always leave outside of my room, and went outside to search for my RA.  Happily, I had remembered to put on a pair of pants before leaving my room.  Unhappily, everything else I needed was in my room, and needed to get out.  I set out to get my door opened, and stepped outside in the cool, not-actually-that-frosty-air.

I checked the RA rooms, and the person on duty wasn’t there.  They did, however, leave a pager number.  I went to a different, nearby residence building, grabbed the phone at the front desk, and dialed the pager number.  I left the extension number as a message.  I quickly received a call back, and within the hour I was back in my room.

… 45 minutes or so after my class had started.  Grrrrreat.

Upside? She didn’t charge me for the lockout.  I must be super cool or something.

Hopefully the rest of today doesn’t knock me out like that.  It’s super rude to lock a person out of their room while they’re brushing their teeth ya know.

It’s also super dumb if you do it to yourself.  Lesson learned: privacy isn’t worth the annoyance of your room autolocking by accident, causing you to miss a class.  Good jearb.

At least after the first two minutes I kept a cool head.  I’m getting really good at not huffing arund when things go wrong and staying melancholy about it.  No rage, no stress, happy Phil!

Keepin’ it cool,
-Phil

Say something!

