This Dog Likes Me

The closest I could get to my puppy partner.

The closest I could get to my puppy partner.

For the last little while, I’ve been living and working in an area without much internet.  Instead of spending a lot of time here, I’ve been spending it with people and one special guest.

The Dog, Steely.

Steely is my Dad’s dog, and he’s a big, golden, furry pile of love.  He loves everyone and everything except squirrels and chipmunks.  He tries(and fails badly) to eat those for breakfast.

The thing is, I spend next to no time with this dog.  Why? Because I don’t live at my father’s place and I spend very little time with Steely.  It makes me kinda sad, but that’s the way it is.

Well, today was very different.  Over the course of the day I have had to bike a few kilometers, dig dirt, and rip weeds, and this dog followed me everywhere.

Since he was following me everywhere, and everywhere I went got me filthy, the dog was no different.  Seeing as there was a nearby lake and the sun had been shining all day, the answer was clear: it was time for a swim.  The dog, naturally, followed me into the lake.

Let’s be clear: this dog is tired.  It has run(not walked) every inch that I’ve biked, and has been chasing rodents all day otherwise.  This dog was pooped, and it followed me into the lake anyway, trying his hardest to paddle where I was walking.

It was at this point that he started having a hard time swimming.  Hey! Look at that: a raft.  It’s a good thing there’s a raft in the middle of this area here…

So I put Steely on the raft.  It’s at this point that 3 girls showed up and started using the raft.

The girls, being anywhere between 8-14, are in love with this massive bundle of fluffy affection, and begin to cuddle it.  Steely is obviously enjoying the attention, and seems to have forgotten about how cold and tired he must be.

I got up on the raft next to him, and we watched these girls play on the raft for about 5-8 minutes.  Every time one of them jumped, Steely would get very worried and would start whining and crying until their little heads popped up.

This had me laughing, since the dog had a tendency to do this.  He doesn’t trust water.

At this point, the girls all pressure me into jumping.  Since they were so tiny, I thought it might be funny to splash them with a cannonball, and acquiesced their request.

So I have 3 little ladies behind me all chanting “JUMP” repeatedly and a dog who is running around the raft like a headless chicken, which really isn’t helping.

What else is there to do? I jump.

While in mid-air the dog freaks out and thinks I’m going to die.  He thinks it’d be heroic to jump after me to save me.

Even though I now have a small bruise on my left shoulder, I appreciate the gesture.  Steely, the dog I don’t spend nearly enough time with, tried to save my non-endangered life.

Needless to say, I’m impressed, astounded, and I have a whole new level of respect for Steely.

You go dawg.

But if you jump on my shoulder again, no scooby snacks for a week.

2 comments

Say something!

